New Bill Makes Bars Liable for DUI Fatalities and Injuries

Columbia Personal Injury Lawyer Instrumental in Passing of New Bill Makes Bars Liable for DUI Fatalities and InjuriesA new bill in South Carolina went into effect on July 1, 2017 making bars and other businesses that serve alcohol after 5 pm liable for fatalities and personal injuries caused by drunk patrons. Under what is called the Dram Shop bill, businesses and individuals who serve alcohol would be required to carry a minimum of $1 million of liability insurance to cover victims who incur injuries, paralysis, or fatalities due to alcohol-related offenses.

Three years ago, a drunk driver hit a former Dillon, South Carolina police officer who now suffers from paralysis and a permanent traumatic brain injury due to the car wreck, which prompted the bill. Since the bar where the drunk driver was served did not carry proper liability insurance, the city of Dillon absorbed the cost of over one million dollars to pay for the officer’s medical expenses.

With the implementation of this new bill, which our attorney, W. Hugh McAngus, Jr., was instrumental in getting passed, victims of drunk driving car accidents perpetrated by drivers who were overserved at bars and other establishments that serve alcohol, will receive proper compensation for their injuries and mental trauma. Businesses who overserve alcohol to patrons who commit alcohol-related crimes will be held liable and accountable for contributing to accidents that do potentially irreparable harm to others.

If you have been injured by a reckless or drunk driver, the Columbia personal injury lawyers at Chappell Smith & Arden, P.A. will fight for you. Call us at 803-929-3600 or 866-881-8623 or contact us online. With offices located in South Carolina, we serve clients in Lexington County, Richland County, Sumter County, Aiken County, Florence County, Lancaster County, York County, Orangeburg County, Kershaw County, and Newberry County, including those in the towns of Columbia, Lexington, Irmo, Chapin, Rock Hill, Aiken, Sumter, Newberry, Florence, and Spartanburg.